top of page
  • obadhahakim

Chain Breaking

Updated: Jun 17, 2022

Take the chains off, and bust up the lock

It’s not a coincidence, the black boys are stuck



Chain Breaking


Take the chains off, and bust up the lock

It’s not a coincidence, the black boys are stuck

No place to develop their budding skills

They should be training, intensified drills

The gates are closed, and won’t let them in

To cultivate talents, and practice to win

With all kinds of tactics, and strategies too

For positive action, so they can be true

To their own self-worth and how they can learn

To cherish each other, and what they can earn

I still can’t believe when I had my daughter

That we must pay for, a clear glass of water

So, feel them, don’t judge them,

When they’re on the run

What system would force them

To pay for their fun?

It helps us, to help them,

Their safety is ours

To guide and protect them,

They’re precious like flowers

Their mirrors are shattered, and we are to blame

Solutions are simple, to heighten their game

They need us to love them, and curve out a way

So, they can be fruitful an open to say

Good looking out, give thanks, for that slice

I couldn’t afford it, because of the price

Think back in our childhood when fun was for free

All round Bermuda, so I could be me

Established in tennis,

I played all day long

Not paying for court time,

That would have been wrong

The elders, they looked out, and opened the door

For us to develop when we wanted more

The same door is now closed, and we hold the key

The new elders blinded, they just cannot see

What Happened?

Whopen?


I’ll tell you what happened, believe it or not

Systemic racism divides us before we get a lot

Because I’m a pond dog, from the old school

I told them about this, they called me a fool

I moved to the country and taught in the west

And built up an army, to beat all the rest

The youths were my focus, taught mostly for free

The system was watching, and got rid of me

I came back with vengeance, the sentence was life

I rose from the dead, and overcame the strife

The fight is not over, I’ll open the gate

My spirit is healthy, my natty they hate

I’ll work with the enemy, they call me their friend

We’ll have our world champion, where & when?

Meanwhile in this battle, composure is needed

Creatively planted and carefully seeded

They want me to blow it, I’ve don’t that before

It sets back the program, and closes the door

They see me coming, in full flight again

I’ll make sure this mission, does not go in vain

Re-channeling my energy, is what it’s about

I’ll quite my mind set when I want to shout

Taking my skill set pass ocean and land

Escaping ungratefulness, pink and white sand

A captured land could never be fair

To natives that help them enjoy the fresh air

Humble hospitality second to none

For tourist to have all the fun

The narrative is about to change

When I hit the African planes

I’ll fill natural talent from the bottom of the glass

Ghanaian champions, representing with class

The latest door opening, I’m ready to go

The exodus is moving, for my Africans show.

32 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page